My Journey as a Product Designer

It all started months ago...

My Journey as a Product Designer

It all started as a front-end developer, not kidding. My job was to translate those UI design mockups into pixel-perfect designs. I was so fascinated with the fact that designs can solve user pain points. During my free time, I noticed I was reading more design-related articles on medium.com. On this good day on youtube, I came in contact with the Ajsmart youtube channel. He spoke about his journey as a self-taught product designer, then I said to myself it was time I take the bold step.

The transition

Moving from a front-end developer role to become a product designer wasn't going to be easy. After careful deliberation and weighing the challenges before me. I proceeded to take these steps that proved helpful in my growth so far

Speak to friends and families

20180801175416-ent18-sept-survey.jpeg

Family and friendships are two of the greatest facilitators of happiness.

I spoke to my family and friends and told them about my transition. They were happy about my growth and knew how far I can go when I want something. They have always been there to support and encourage me on this journey.

Speak to industry experts

A platform that was so helpful to me in this area was Adplist.org. On Adplist, I met with industry experts I spoke with about my transition to design. I got advice on how to start as a designer and what I needed to do to find this field enjoyable.

Find a mentor

mentor.jpg

Finding a mentor sometimes can be challenging especially when it involves time. Mentoring a newbie can be challenging because of their task and daily activities. Find a mentor can be a big advantage in that they will guide your progress and share their own experiences. Having a mentor has been a huge success for me in that I get constant reviews of my designs and I get to talk about life. Practical suggestions on how to find mentors

  1. Ask experts in your field for constant feedback
  2. Make friends with these experts
  3. Request a quick 10-15mins call
  4. Make more friends of like minds those that are in this field
  5. Tell people about your interest in this field and how you are loving it.

Doing all of these as a newbie in a new field or skill you want to acquire will help your development faster than imagined.

So far I have been enjoying my transition, I hope this helps you in your field too.